Latest Posts

947, Tuks FM and Hot 102.7 Win Big At The 2022 South African Radio Awards

The 2022 SA Radio Awards took place earlier this week at The Empire Conference and Events Venue in Parktown, Johannesburg, with South African comedian Loyiso Madinga as master of ceremonies. The awards celebrate South Africa’s incredible radio landscape and the content the many stations have created over the past year.

Now in its 12th year, the 2022 Radio Awards recognise the personalities in front of the microphone, as well as those operating behind the scenes to produce radio of the highest quality.

This year, 91 winners were announced across 30 categories in the Campus, Community, Public Broadcast Service (PBS), Commercial Licence, podcast and internet radio sections.

The Station of the Year awards went to 947 (Commercial), SAfm (PBS), GrootFM (Community) and Tuks FM (Campus). Winners were determined by the number of times they appeared as finalists across all general categories in 2022, as well as their motivation submissions, which indicated innovation, audience growth, community outreach and general achievements, as well as their “x-factor”.

Benjy Mudie, Hennie Koortzen, Mark Jennings, Nadia Bulbulia, Siphiwo Magoda and Trish Taylor were inducted into the Radio Awards Hall of Fame.

Aaron Masemola, Asakhe Ngxonono, Dylan Pepler, Mihlali Matyana, Owen Crafford, Simthande Myeza, Siphelele Nzuza, Talitha Counter and Tshegofatso Seleke were inducted as Bright Stars.

Rorisang Mkhumbeni was the recipient of the Bursary Award.

947 was th big winner of the night taking home the coveted Station of the Year award as well as wins for Thando Thabethe winning Best Afternoon Drive presenter and Best Afternoon Drive Show. While Anele Mdoda was awarded Best Breakfast Show Presenter. Zweli Mbhele also scored a win in the Best Music Show category for the 947 Top 40 show which occurs every Saturday.

Other big winners included Jacaranda FM’s Martin Bester and Breakfast with Martin Bester, DJ Sabby, Mark Pilgrim and more.

To view the complete list of winners, please visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts

Don't Miss