Latest Posts

SAMA XXI: And The Winners Are…


The 21st annual South African Music awards took place in Sun City last night and man, what a night it was! Local Afro-pop group Beatenberg took home 6 awards last night while the local rap genre shone! From exciting collaborations on stage (Prime Circle performed Doc Shebeleza with Cassper Nyovest!!) to some amazing fashion, the night was a goodie!

Here are this year’s winners: 

Album of the Year

Beatenberg, The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Duo or Group of the Year

Beatenberg, The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Female Artist of the Year

Bucie, Princess of House (Easy to Love)

Male Artist of the Year

AKA, Levels

Newcomer of the Year

Cassper Nyovest, Tsholofelo

Best Rock Album

aKing, Morning After

Best Pop Album

Beatenberg, The Hanging Gardens of Beatenberg

Best Pop Album (Afrikaans)

Riana Nel, Die Regte Tyd


Best Adult Contemporary Album

Niemand, Back Again


Best Adult Contemporary Album (Afrikaans)

Dewald Wasserfall #EkEnJy

Best African Adult Album

Maleh, You Make My Heart Go

Best Alternative Album

Bittereinder, Skerm

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album

Afrotraction – For The Lovers 


Best Rap Album

K.O., Skhanda Republic

Best Kwaito Album


Professor, University of Kalawa Jazmee Since 1994

Best Dance Album

Black Motion, Fortune Teller

Best Traditional Faith Music Album

S’fiso Ncwane, Bayede Baba

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album

Loyiso Bala, Power Love Sound

Best Traditional Music Album

Botlhale Boikanyo, Spoken Word & Music


Best Maskandi Album

Thokozani Langa, Igema Lami


Best Jazz Album

McCoy Mrubata, Brasskap Sessions Vol. 2

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album

Wouter Kellerman, Winds of Samsara


Best Live DVD

Robin Kohl for First Decade by Lira 

Best Collaboration

K.O. ft. Kid X, Caracara

Best Music Video of the Year

Ryan Kruger (director), Let the Night In by Prime Circle

Best Producer of the Year

Wouter Kellerman, Winds of Samsara by Wouter Kellerman & Ricky Kej

Best Engineer of the Year

Brian O’Shea, Crighton Johnny Apple by Johnny Apple Goodwill & Marius Brouwer

Remix of the Year

DJ Sbu & Robbie Malinga, Indlela Yam by DJ Sbu & Mojalefa Thebe


KIA Record Of The Year: K.O. ft kid X – Caracara

International Achievement Awards: Wouter Kellerman

Lifetime Achievement Awards


Best Selling Album: Riana Nel

Best Selling DVD:  Vol. 18 One Purpose – Joyous SA

Best Selling Mobile Music Download:  Beatenberg and DJ Clock

Best Selling Ring-Back Tone:  Pluto – DJ Clock ft Beatenberg

Best Selling Full-Track Download:  Pluto – DJ Clock ft Beatenberg



Highest Airplay of the Year – Pluto; DJ Clock ft Beatenberg 

Feel free to comment, share or tweet @ElBroide



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts

Don't Miss