Latest Posts

Die Antwoord Announce New Album and Drop New Single ‘Banana Brain’

Love them or hate them, you can’t deny that Die Antwoord are something special. After dropping a free mixtape earlier this year, Ninja and Yo-Landi have dropped a banging new single. The king and queen of zef also took to their Facebook page to announce that their new album Mount Ninji & Da Nice Time Kid drops everywhere on the 16th of September.

In true Die Antwoord fashion, the two have come up with an, uhm, interesting story about their upcoming album. “When Ninji, ¥o-landi and God hooked up with The Black Goat and started recording Die Antwoord’s 4th album around 2 years ago the mood of the tracks we started banging out was rough and tough and mischievous and wild and hard and dark and at that point we were going to call this album RATS RULE, because in life you get the champions and the underdogs and in our minds we sometimes feel like 1 level below the underdogs in this fucked up pop world, but we also know our time is coming, and soon we gonna take over this whole bitch,” they said.

The group added, “So anyway, then we made some more tracks and the core of the album stayed all dark and ratty but a new layer oozed out around our dark core that was kinda mental and lunatic and random and juicy and 2 much fun and so we changed the name of our album to WE HAVE CANDY. Then recently while we was finishing up this album another layer exploded out of our dark wild juicy core like a giant supernatural mega aura and suddenly our album was so epic and sometimes vulnerable and sometimes sweet and romantic and so brave and full of mystery and win. Like when you going through hell, and the mission feels impossible, but you not allowed to fail, and all you can do is keep your chin up and keep going, then when you least expect it you emerge from this dark never-ending hole, and… you made it! And you can’t believe it, and you’ve changed inside and you’re better and stronger and calmer and more fun than you were before you journeyed merrily in2 hell. And as we stepped out into the light, a little bruised and battered, but still ok, we blinked and tried to focus then looked at each other and laughed out loud. Then ¥o-landi said, “Why don’t we call the album MOUNT NINJI & DA NICE TIME KID?” And Ninji’s shoulders relaxed and he slumped back into his chair and said, “You a fuckin genius! I love you!”

The album is guaranteed to be crazy and this time, Die Antwoord have collaborated with Jack Black, Dita Von Teese and Lil Tommy Terror which I am so excited to hear! They also have tracks called ‘Jonah Hill’ and ‘Wings On My Penis’ which will, undoubtedly, be spicy.

However, the album’s lead single is a track called ‘Banana Brain’ and is a side of Die Antwoord we’ve never seen before. Sure, they’re no strangers to electronic music but this single sees old-school trance elements blended with their cheeky, shocking lyrical content and style. Yo-Landi is fire on the chorus and this is something so unique and fresh from the duo. I like how the duo have pushed themselves with the new material and haven’t relied on their explicit content to keep audiences happy.

The new single proves that the group deserve all the international success they’ve received over the past few years. In fact, the new material should catapult them into more territories than ever before. To support the new record, Die Antwoord are heading out on a massive American tour later this year. Here’s hoping they come back home for a tour soon. I can’t wait to hear this album!

Mount Ninji & Da Nice Time Kid Tracklist:

1) We Have Candy
2) Daddy
3) Banana Brain
4) S**t Just Got Real (feat. Sen Dog)
5) Gucci Coochie (feat. Dita Von Teese)
6) Wings on My Penis (feat. Lil Tommy Terror)
7) U Like Boobies? (feat. Lil Tommy Terror)
8) Rats Rule (feat. Jack Black)
9) Jonah Hill
10) Stoopid Rich
11) Fat Faded F**k Face
12) Peanutbutter + Jelly
13) Alien
14) Street Lights
15) Darkling
16) I Don’t Care

Feel free to comment, share or tweet @ElBroide


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts

Don't Miss