Latest Posts

Vote For Your Favourite Comedians At The 11th Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards

Last month, the nominees for the 11th Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards were announced at an exciting event in Rosebank, Johannesburg. While the comedy industry plays a pivotal role in judging most of the awards, there are certain categories where fans hold the power to make their voices heard by voting for their favourite comedians at right now.

From now until 31 March, fans are encouraged to visit the official Savanna Comics’ Choice Awards website to cast their votes across four categories – giving the public the opportunity to shine a spotlight on the best of South Africa’s stand-up comedians and comedic content creators.

“South African comedy has always been fuelled by the passion and support of its fans,” says Manuela Dias de Deus, producer of the Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards. “By opening up voting to the public, we’re allowing comedy lovers to directly influence the outcome of these prestigious awards. It’s a chance to honour the comedians who have brought laughter and joy into our lives, especially during these challenging times.”

The categories open to public voting are:

Breakthrough Act of the Year Award

This award celebrates the best breakthrough comedian, shortlisted for by the comedy industry. The nominees in this category are: Ebenhaezer Dibakwane, JamJam The Comedian, Shanray Van Wyk, Wazi M Kunene and Vafa Naraghi.

Sauce of the Year Award, Presented by Mrs. Balls

This award celebrates any tactical piece of content/social commentary that really flavoured things up over the past year. The nominees in this category are: Dalin Oliver, Dillan Oliphant, Mojak Lehoko, Tums The Narrator and Vafa Naraghi.

UpLIFTing Comedic Content Award, Presented by LIFT

As the name suggests, this award celebrates the most UpLIFTing comedic content. The nominees in this category are: Costa Carastavrakis, Dalin Oliver, Nina Hastie, Shanray Van Wyk, Tums The Narrator and Vafa Naraghi.

Funny is Funny Award

This one’s for brands and agencies. Comedians like being asked what’s funny, so let’s let them decide shall we? Agencies were asked to enter their funniest ads, and the five below were shortlisted by the comedy industry. The nominees in this category are: Herholdts, King Price, Switch Energy and Viya.

Make your voice heard and vote for your favourite comedian by visiting before 31 March to cast their vote and will automatically be placed in the running to win a once-in-a-lifetime exclusive VIP trip to the awards on 13 April where they will be able to rub elbows with comedy royalty.

Book your seat for the birthday celebration of the year!

The winners will be announced at a glamorous black tie birthday celebration event at The Lyric Theatre at Gold Reef City on 13 April 2024. The main event is hosted by the hilarious Mpho ‘Popps’ Modikoane and will feature heavyweight comedians Robby Collins, Celeste Ntuli, Khanyisa Bunu and Mojak Lehoko.

In addition to finding out who’ll walk away with one of the 12 awards, fans will be entertained by hilarious comedy sketches from some of South Africa’s favourite comedians, and celebrity appearances.

Secure your seat for an incredible awards show and night of laughter and entertainment. Limited tickets are available to the public via Computicket here.

The 11th Savanna Comics’ Choice Comedy Awards is proudly supported by Savanna Premium Cider, Mrs. Ball’s, Comedy Central, LIFT and One-eyed Jack.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts

Don't Miss